Football Season Ends with Second-Round Playoff Loss at UW-Whitewater

Football Season Ends with Second-Round Playoff Loss at UW-Whitewater

Whitewater, Wis. - The Franklin College football team lost 33-3 at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in the second round of the NCAA Division III playoffs on Saturday. The No. 20-ranked Grizzlies ended the season with an 8-4 record and a fourth straight Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship, while this year's senior class ended their careers with 36 wins and three straight second-round playoff appearances.

UW-Whitewater (12-0), ranked No. 5 in the national poll, took a 7-0 lead on a nine-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Matt Behrendt to receiver Jake Kumerow at the 10:52 mark of the opening quarter.

The hosts added 10 points in the second quarter to build a 17-0 halftime advantage. Behrendt threw a 14-yard touchdown pass to Justin Howard and Eric Kindler converted a 29-yard field goal.

In the second half, senior placekicker Mike Wood (Greenwood, Ind./Center Grove) made a career-long 46-yard field goal with 9:34 remaining in the third quarter.

UW-Whitewater answered with a 29-yard touchdown pass from Behrendt to Kumerow take a 23-3 lead midway through the quarter. The Warhawks added 10 points in the fourth quarter to cap the scoring.

UW-Whitewater has won four national championships since 2007.

Individually, Franklin senior quarterback Jonny West (Speedway, Ind./Speedway) threw for 297 yards on 33 completions. Senior Kyle Linville (Speedway, Ind./Speedway) led the receivers with 11 receptions for 105 yards and junior Jonny Hession (Speedway, Ind./Speedway) added six catches.

West holds school career records for passing yards (10,653), completions (894), touchdowns (105), attempts (1,407) and total offense (10,910).

Linville ends his career holding every single-season and career receiving record. He recorded 106 catches this season and 306 career receptions. Linville, a Gagliardi Trophy finalist, had 53 career touchdowns and 4,691 receiving yards – the most of any active NCAA wide receiver.

Senior Jordan Segner (Anderson, Ind./Highland) led a defensive effort with 12 tackles. Sophomore Nate Bryan (Greencastle, Ind./North Putnam) made nine tackles.

The game concluded the careers of 18 seniors that became the first football program to win four consecutive HCAC titles. The class had a 36-11 record overall and 31-1 mark in conference play.